Australia has been invited to participate in the 60th anniversary of the Eurovision song contest.

Australian Idol’s first winner, Guy Sebastian will represent the county at this year’s event.

The country’s inclusion is part of the competition’s plans to give the celebrations an extra dimension, as well as walk-the-talk on this year’s theme, Building Bridges.

Eurovision is an annual song competition held primarily among member countries of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU).

The contest has been broadcast every year since 1956, and it attracts an audience of more than 180 million every year.

Each member country submits a song to be performed on live television and radio, and then the public of particpating countries cast votes to determine the most popular song in the competition. The only catch – you cannot vote for your own country.

At present, Ireland is the most successful nation, with seven titles to its name.

Notable previous winners of the competition are ABBA, crowned winners in 1974 with their hit ‘Waterloo’, and Celine Dion, who won in 1988 with her song ‘Ne partez pas sans moi.’

While Sebastian will officially fly Australia’s colour at Eurovision 2015,  it’s not the first time an Australian has sung at the event.

Gina G and Olivia Newton-John represented the United Kingdom, Jane Comerford represented Germany and Johnny Logan represented Ireland.

Here we look at the numbers that make Eurovision a great event.